Artifacts and musings throughout HS 3250G

Poverty

I started preparing for this week’s class by watching the video link contained in the resource for this week. I am a huge fan of TED talks so I was happily surprised to discover that I would be watching a clip of one. I though that the video was amazing and inspiring. Firstly, I had no idea that they were doing social housing projects in Africa, so that was something that was nice to know was that they were taking a similar approach to improving living conditions for low-income families as we do here in North America and maybe even doing a better job of it that we are, what with Joe Fontana and his zero-percent tax increase strategy that means slashing assistance for social housing projects and funding to organizations to help the homeless here in London.  I loved that Jane, the woman from Nairobi who was mentioned in the talk was so positive about life even though she was HIV positive. It made me think of my CSL project where I’m working with Western Heads East. At out first meeting we watched a video that talked with some of the recipients of the yogurt that the mamas from the project make and I was so amazed to see how happy and upbeat they were, in spite of haing HIV and how much they wanted to help others. I like that projects like Western Heads East and microcredit projects use industry to help people to help themselves. It makes me think of that old saying: “Give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he’ll eat for life”. And I really do think that is what is essential to alleviating poverty is giving people the skills and education to be able to help themselves and their families and their communities.

Leave a Reply

